LUCKY


I’m getting worried

I’m feeling tense.

Because in my pocket

I’ve only got thirteen pence.

And pay day

Is five days away.

With thirteen pence I could buy one egg,

With thirteen pence I could sit up and beg.

Or I could follow some bums

Hoping they might drop crumbs,

Or I could just remain hollow

And follow,

The echoing rumbles

As my stomach grumbles.

Thirteen pence will not buy a lot

It wont buy me meat to put in the pot.

So I shall ride this storm out,

But what’s this I shout

I’ve just found a pound,

Right there on the ground.

These streets really are paved with gold

And if I might be so bold,

I shall say

So is today.

Leave a Reply

