IT WERE CHAMPION


It were champion living on farm,

Playing hide and seek in the ramshackle barn.

And when the time came in the summer holiday,

We would be out on the land making the hay.

And me Dad would say

“Thee is grand lads you do me proud”

Aye he would say it right out loud,

So Jack who were the pigman could hear.

And when it was hot and we were in the field,

And the skin peeled on our backs,

Me Mam would rush out with the Calomine lotion,

Oh yes and she would make such a commotion,

And she would tell me Dad off.

But my Dad would just smile and cough

And say”tha’ boys is growing up lass and the sunburn will pass,

Like the growing of grass,They will be season’s long past”

And now as I cast my mind back,

To those sunny days with my Brother and Dad

And Mam and Jack.

I wish I were back on the farm.

Playing hide and seek in the ramshackle barn.

Leave a Reply

