SUICIDE CITY


I stand and I stare

At those people aware.

Who have travelled down there.

But I know the battles half won

When I see the light of the sun.

Knowing what could have been done.

Down in suicide city.

On the streets of no hope and despair

On the streets where people don’t care

On the streets where nothing is fair.

My heart’s full of pity

For those in suicide city.

Where the mines of the mind

Of  life so unkind.

Where the people you find

Are troubled and stressed

Down trod and depressed.

Where locked behind walls

The gas oven calls.

Or a rope should appear

And then it all becomes clear.

That a leap into the unknown

Will end all.

Will stop all that was known.

But another thought occurs

As you walk up the stairs ( rope in hand)

I can get out of this town.

I can wake myself up and not down.

I can stand

I can stare

I can stop being there.

I can feel sadness and pity

For those in suicide city.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. John Smallshaw
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 10:04:44

    Not a viable or a sustainable option..It is always another day somewhere.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

