DEATH MASK


It’s not that much to ask to delay for a few moments the final death mask.

Because today I don’t feel all that well,

In fact I think that I’m heading for hell

In a basket!

No I think I shall make that a casket.

So I’m going shopping on-line to buy a box made of pine.

About six feet by four or maybe by three

I’m going to measure and see.

And as I shuffle off this mortal coil

Please bathe me in jasmine scented oil,

And wrap me in swaddling.

I’ve always been partial to a bit of mollycoddling.

What do you know now I feel better

Please disregard this dreadful death letter.

I promise to write again post haste

Just as soon as I savour and taste.

Life.

Leave a Reply

