OH WHAT JOY


When Saab ruled the world

And it was knit one two pearled 

And Morris was a minor

No times were any finer.

The lifekeeper kept the keys

As I sat on Grandma’s knees

And Grandpa often teased.

I sat and ate my rusks

But those rusks are now just empty husks

Of a bygone time.

Of knickers on the washing line

And coals upon the open grate.

The dinners of time of which I have ate

Have passed,

I have amassed

Memories in miles teardrops and smiles

Wrinkles and crinkles.

And now on the brink I sit and I think

Of space invaders Roy rogers raiders.

The Flintstones.

Me and Mr’s Jones.

Oh what joy!

Leave a Reply

