LONG GONE


The river’s running dry.

The coal mines have all been shut.

The mills are all closed down.

I’m living in a dying town.

The council is going bust

Machinery has turned to rust.

The young have all got old

The family silver has all been sold.

The local lads have gone to war

The police are not the only law.

The dogs are chewing on chewed up bones

Defaulters defaulting on unpaid loans.

But it’s good to be here back in the nest

I know it’s all changed and not for the best.

But we will survive go on to drive

Through this hiccup and we will pickup 

The pieces.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Poetjanstie
    May 30, 2011 @ 09:39:57

    I don’t tend to waste time commenting on blogs for commenting’s sake, or to put myself about, but I can’t help keep coming back here, John, because you seem to be in a rich vein of writing. This is evocative stuff, really simple but evocative. It so strikes home.

    Reply

    • John Smallshaw
      May 30, 2011 @ 17:45:05

      Hi poetjanstieThanks for the comments,The poetry I write I realise is not world crumbling stuff but I am so glad it is appreciated and liked by other people.I am not a particularly educated person but I don’t think you need to be to express oneself in poetry or prose.If the feeling is inside then it will always come across in the writing.Once again thanks so much for the comments.

      Regards j

      Reply

  2. A Blithering Idiot
    May 30, 2011 @ 15:03:20

    That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

    Reply

  3. Some Blithering Idiot
    May 30, 2011 @ 19:52:27

    That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

