If I should be


If I am to be where I should belong

I would be one or two words in an unpopular song.

The squeaking hinge on the bathroom door

Or the missing tile on the kitchen floor.

If I am to be, What is to be of me?

Would I get swallowed in Ahab’s whale

Crawl through my days under the shell of a snail

Or be the hole in the bottom of a milkmaid’s pail?

And if I am to be what will I see

The fires of dawn lighting up the land

The oil can drums of a Caribbean band

The countless whispers in the grains of sand?.

If I am to be where I belong if I’m not wrong

I should be here.

Leave a Reply

