Not right in tonight


I did not want to write tonight

I wanted to drink and drink

Not having to pick up the pen and think.

I thought I’d get wasted

But I tasted the ale and it was sour

I did all in my power to make it taste right.

I did not want to write tonight.

Tonight is off key and that means for me

I can’t get the lines to fit into my rhymes

Perhaps I’m too old just some grime in my time

But if that’s true it’s fine..

After all I’m nearly as old as the Maginot line.

I did not want to write tonight

I wanted to be drunk and to look at the Moon

I wanted to savour the taste of my doom

I wanted to be alone

Alone in my room.

But here I am pen in hand

Trying to staunch the flow of ink and

Failing

Leave a Reply

