On the soapbox.


I shall call this life an interlude

Because it’s a bit like waiting for dessert

But the main course that you chewed is still stuck in your teeth.

That is if you have any teeth

But no matter if you do not.

You can just suck on the dismantlement of the wealth..

..mental and dental health of this once great nation.

So put in your ersatz coffee a spoonful of carnation

While your eating your compressed , best before , force fed..

..hand pressed strawberry jam and slice of fried spam.

I am what I am but I’m beginning to think that popeye was a sham

But at least he had his greens

All we got is black eyed freeze dried tomato sauce in beans.

I would say let’s stand up and fight

But there is no electric and we have no light

And anyway politics is a load of sh*te.

So let’s go back to our homes converse via cheap mobile phones

And chew on the bones

Of our dreams.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. PoetJanstie
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 07:38:59

    JS, this is a moody piece and I’m damn sure it more than adequately reflects the mood of those who are at the bottom of the economic ladder and who are feeling it hardest, especially those who have striven so hard for a few years to get off the bottom rung… really feel this.

    Reply

    • John Smallshaw
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 15:48:04

      Thanks John….Like your comment..this does not reflect my mood not even when I wrote it..It is just a colourful mix of thoughts I may have had at sometime and they happen to come out quite well in Rhyme..Now a question.On my previous post from WordPress(a piece I wrote earlier and reposted) E BAISDENS Comment was to put the entire piece as a comment but not only that he missed several words and a couple of lines out.Is this standard in America (he is American) And what is the point?

      Reply

    • John Smallshaw
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 15:49:06

      The piece I am referring to is “Another moment in time)

      Reply

  2. PoetJanstie
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 10:08:15

    I’ve looked at “Another Moment In Time” (nice poem BTW) and can’t see the E Baisden comment, in fact there doesn’t appear to be any comment in there. But I understand your point. Some people I know, who comment on a blog post of poem, will often ‘lift’ a piece of the text, a paragraph or a poignant phrase or sentence and paste in into the comment box, then write their thoughts about it. But to lift the whole poem, which is albeit not that long, seems a bit strange. I think he must have made a mistake, be confused or simply be an incompetent computer used!

    Reply

  3. wett tipps
    Sep 24, 2011 @ 02:55:39

    wett tipps
    Hi, can I use your article on my blog with a linkback?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

