The Book


Would I manipulate the profit/loss account to take a minute more

To strike the numbers one to four and change the page to somewhat less?

Well bless my soul I think I could…carve upon the wooden rails with finger nails that scratch my skin and let the rock of ages in.

And then the ledger wedged against the kitchen door would look to me with written lies until my eyes could take no more..and so the numbers one to four would enter in…
..and I the sinner count the days..manipulate the many ways it could have been.

Who has seen unsightly things..what wisdom brings is not all good.
Once more I carve into the wood.

I was here.full of fear.in the year..
..of the book.

Leave a Reply

