Prism


There is no night
no day
no love
no way not a minute to say
or an hour left to pray
no more games to play
or debts I should pay
everything 
everything
everything is grey.

No blacks 
no whites
no colours to light up the nights
no stars in the sky
or tears left to cry
and nothing to say
the whole World is grey.

Where once I had seen
verdant valleys of green and the reddening of a rose
and colours had put on great colourful shows
I now see places 
obsolete, formed by the desperate concreting of dreams over blue mountain streams and in the scenes of a play
I watch my life turning grey
and I’m old
I have sold the fountain of truth for a look back at youth that I was
and in the young man I see
a colourful rainbow that once upon a long time ago was me
but no pot of gold no more colours to hold and nothing more to say
everything 
everything
everything is grey.

Leave a Reply

